Skip navigation

I just realized today that several posts ago, while I was ranting away about the horrible install experience I had trying to get TERA to work, I kinda glossed over what I did that fixed it.  In case anyone else comes across this issues, hopefully they can take these steps to get it corrected.

The steps I’m going to give should apply if you get the error like the one below:

C:\Program Files(x86)\TERA\TERA-Launcher.exe is not a valid Win32 application.

C:\Program Files(x86)\TERA\TERA-Launcher.exe is not a valid Win32 application.

I received this error after installing from the physical discs.  So, the most obvious solution to this error is to just download the client instead of installing it by disc.  The downside to this solution is the download process could vastly extend the install process.

The error specifically came about just after the install finished.  Although I only saw it for a second, I’m pretty sure the launcher ran at least once and downloaded an update for itself.  It was after this that the launcher wouldn’t work.  What I did notice, though, was that a new folder was created.  So, to break it down:

The game installed itself into C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA\.  You can replace this with the folder that you installed the game into.

TERA-Launcher.exe no longer works inside that folder.  However, inside there is another folder called TERA-Launcher.exe.update.

C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA\TERA-Launcher.exe.update\

And inside this folder is yet another copy of TERA-Launcher.exe.  If you try to run this one where it’s at, it will not do anything.  So, what you do is right-click and Cut the file, go back into C:\Program Files (x86)\TERA\, and then Paste it, replacing the broken launcher program.  Now, double-click it and the update folder you were in before should disappear as it’s finally updated, and then the launcher should work after that.

After I put my rant up, I noticed someone had recommended to download the client and install it on top of the regular install if it’s broken, and it should fix the launcher.  You can definitely try this method, but I don’t know if it would still require downloading the whole game or not.

I hope this helps others that have this issue.  Let me know what you think in the comments.

One Comment

  1. As an edit to this post, I just had TERA do an update to itself again and, yet again, broke. The same process I outlined above fixed it again. Yes, it’s disheartening, and dragging down my view of the game when little things like this aren’t fixed.


Leave a Reply

